Top Border
Header Image
Parish News

Bulletin 19th November 2017
Thursday, November 16th 2017

Bulletin 19-11-2017


Monday, November 13th 2017

Our new external church lighting will formerly be switched on Wednesday 22nd November at 5pm to coincide with the Catholic charity Aid to the Church in Need’s #RedWednesday campaign.  On this day, churches will be lighting their buildings red in an attempt to shine a light on Christian persecution and highlight the injustices perpetrated against other faith groups.  Red is the Christian colour of martyrdom.  Christians are the most persecuted faith group in today’s world and #RedWednesday will honour all Christians who suffer and die for their faithfulness to Christ’s message of peace and love.



Bulletin 12th November 2017
Friday, November 10th 2017

Bulletin 12-11-2017


Friday, November 10th 2017

                                Light a Candle

               Annual Bethany Memorial Service

                           Ashbourne Church

                Sunday 19th November at 7pm

          Refreshments afterwards in Parish Hall

                                All Welcome


Bulletin 5th November 2017
Friday, November 3rd 2017

Bulletin 5-11-17


All Saints Parish Party
Thursday, November 2nd 2017

Thank you to all who celebrated our Parish’s inaugural All-Saints Party on Tuesday 31st October (eve of ‘All Saints’), those who prepared the activities and refreshments, and the many adults and children who prepared imaginative costumes based on well-known saints.

     Read the rest of this entry »


Feast of All Souls
Thursday, November 2nd 2017

Crucifix in Ashbourne Cemetery on the Eve of All Souls

“It is a good and wholesome thing to remember the dead.”

(2 Macc 12:46)

The month of November is an occasion for us to continue the tradition of visiting the church and cemetery to pray quietly for our dead.  Remembering our loved ones, family and friends during the month of November has always been seen as an act of charity to the faithful departed from those who still have the gift of life to help them attain their eternal rest.  Our prayers, particularly the offering of Mass, expresses our hope that God will free the person who has died from any burden of sin and prepare a place for them in heaven.

“Eternal rest, grant unto them, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon them. May they rest in peace.” Amen



Annual Harvest Mass of Thanksgiving
Monday, October 30th 2017

Our parish’s Annual Harvest Mass of Thanksgiving took place this weekend.  We remember with grateful hearts the labours of those who earn their living from the land, the bountiful harvest, and the blessing of food we share each day.  May we always be grateful for the blessings we receive, remembering those who are hungry and in need.

Our thanks to all who contributed to this years harvest display: Deirdre Kennedy, K&K Produce; David & Gráinne Farrell; Daragh Donnelly; Anthony Battersby; Peter Keogh & Sons, Simon & John Gormley, and Reika O’ Sullivan.  All produce kindly donated will be distributed by St. Vincent De Paul to needy families in our Parish.  Ashbourne-Donaghmore Parish encourages our parishioners to support local businesses by shopping local.



Bulletin 29th October 2017
Friday, October 27th 2017

29th Oct..2017 (1)


Parish Prayer Ministry November 2017
Sunday, October 22nd 2017


‘A praying parish is a growing parish ; a growing parish is a praying parish .‘ Please join us in praying for the following intentions this month.

Lord Jesus Christ King of Heaven and earth, we remember the Holy Souls in Purgatory.  Jesus, in Your compassion have mercy on them—our relatives and friends  —and on those who have nobody to pray for them.  Grant them the comfort of Your Holy Mother and their Guardian angels as they patiently await the joyful day of their entry into the joy of Your Kingdom.

Lord, on the Feast of All Saints and that of all the Saints of Ireland, we remember our communion with our patron saints and we ask their prayers as we continue walking with You on the straight and narrow road that leads to our eternal home.

As winter closes in we ask You Lord Jesus that those in authority be aware of their duty to ensure that the homeless are appropriately housed and that children can grow up in settings suitable to the promotion of family life.  May those who plan, design, and build in our cities ever be mindful of the dignity and needs of the human  person.

This month we pray that Christians in Asia may lead the way in promoting peace through dialogue and mutual understanding with those of other faiths.

For all parents, especially those of new born infants, that they may more fully appreciate the gift of faith and the responsibility given them by God to raise their children in the knowledge and love of our Creator, Redeemer, and Sanctifier.

Thank You for hearing our prayers. Amen.

Our Father, Hail Mary , Gloria.





Bottom Border